More Pink Scrap Quilt

IMG_9780
Remember when I said that I wasn’t in a hurry to finish the pink scrappy quilt that I am working on, but that its so fun to work on? Well, the joy factor struck again and I made the center of the quilt.
IMG_9781
I have been seeing these giant starts crop up from time to time on other sewing/quilting/crafting blogs that I follow, and I finally decided to just go for it & make one using the same fabrics I’ve used in the small blocks for my giant star.
IMG_9783
I played around with the layout a bunch as you can see. I actually deleted more potential layouts from my camera…I am only posting these ones because I really like them for one reason or another.
IMG_9786
Several of these would have worked but I wanted to find one that gave the most balance between light & dark, busy & calm, solid & print.
IMG_9788
Ultimately the photo below is what I went with. Its hard to see in this photo because it was dark and I really only took this photo so I’d remember where to lay out the pieces as I sewed them together bit by bit. In real life, it looks amazing. I think this will be a very fun bedspread someday!
IMG_9795
Thomas says I should call this the ‘Fablehaven Quilt’ because I only work on it at night when my husband is reading Fablehaven aloud to the rest of us. All the blocks I’ve made including this giant star were made this way, and last night we finished the series. Fun stuff.

1 Comment

Filed under Quilt

One response to “More Pink Scrap Quilt

  1. Thomas, I think that is a great name for this quilt! Love you, Grandma

Leave a Reply

